Canberra, ACT

10 May 2017

On Wednesday 10 May 2017, at Government House, Canberra, the Governor-General, General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), and Lady Cosgrove hosted a farewell dinner in honour of the Secretary of the Department of Defence, Mr Dennis Richardson AO. Guests included: Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin AC and Mrs Gitte Binskin; Mr John Bowan; Lieutenant General Angus Campbell DSC AM and Mrs Stephanie Copus-Campbell; Brigadier Walter Campbell and Mrs Barbara Campbell; Mr Ian Cousins PSM and Mrs Kerry-Anne Cousins; Mr Rawdon Dalrymple AO PSM and Mrs Ross Dalrymple; Mr Atticus Fleming; Mr Lindsay Fox AC and Mrs Paula Grace Fox AO; The Honourable Josh Frydenberg MP; Mr Peter Gago; Mr Alan Gyngell AO and Mrs Cathy Gyngell; The Honourable Bob Hawke AC; Mr Paul Kelly; Professor Neville Meaney; Mrs Daniela Misic; Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM and Dr Heather Smith PSM; Mr Michael Phelps and Ms Margaret Reid; Mrs Betty Richardson; Mr Mark Richardson and Mrs Janine Richardson; Mrs Mary Richardson; Ms Natalie Richardson and Mr James Elliot; The Honourable Philip Ruddock and Mrs Heather Ruddock; Mr Brendan Sargeant; Ms Jill Saunders; Mr Richard Smith AO PSM and Mrs Jan Smith; The Honourable Stephen Smith and Ms Jane Seymour; Mr Ricky Stuart and Mrs Kaylie Stuart; Mr John Tilemann and Mrs Marianne Tilemann; Ms Tammy Van Dange; and Mr Dick Woolcott AC.

In the morning, the Governor-General received a video call from students attending Campbell Town District High School, TAS; and Exmouth District High School, WA, as part of their civics and citizenship class.

Earlier, the Governor-General met with students from Suncoast Christian College, QLD; The Friends School, TAS; and Moreton Bay College, QLD, as they undertook a tour of Government House as part of their visit to Canberra.