Canberra, ACT; Honiara, Solomon Islands

28 June 2017

On Wednesday 28 June 2017, following the departure of the Governor-General, General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) from Australia on an Official Visit to Solomon Islands and the Independent State of Samoa, the proclamation assuming the Administration of the Government of Australia was signed by the Governor of South Australia, His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC.

Afterwards, at Honiara International Airport, Solomon Islands, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove were welcomed by the Solomon Islands Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade, the Honourable Milner Tozaka MP.

Later, in Honiara, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove received the High Commissioner to Solomon Islands, His Excellency Mr Roderick Brazier.

In the afternoon, at the Town Ground, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove attended a cultural welcome and traditional thanksgiving for leaders of the Regional Assistance Mission to the Solomon Islands (RAMSI) member nations, including Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand, the Honourable Paula Bennett; Special Envoy of the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, Her Excellency Madam Lucy Bogari; Tonga Police Commissioner, Commissioner Stephen Caldwell; President of the Federated States of Micronesia, His Excellency Mr Peter Christian; Niue Police Commissioner, Mr Tonyata Edwards; Minister of Justice for the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Honourable Thomas Heine; Governor-General of Tuvalu, His Excellency Sir Iakoba Taeia Italeli GCMG and Lady Koling Italeli; President of the Republic of Kiribati, His Excellency Taneti Maamau and Madam Teiraeng Maamau; Special Envoy of New Caledonia, Madame Caroline Machoro-Reignier; Prime Minister of the Independent State of Samoa, the Honourable Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi MP; Governor-General of Cook Islands, His Excellency Mr Tom Marsters and Lady Tuaine Marsters; Former President of the Republic of Fiji, His Excellency Ratu Epeli Nailatikau; Vice President of the Republic of Palau, the Honourable Raynold Oilouch; Prime Minister of the Republic of Vanuatu, the Honourable Charlot Salwai; Special Envoy of French Polynesia, Mr Manuel Terai; and President of the Republic of Nauru, His Excellency Baron Waqa MP and Madam Louisa Waqa.

In the evening, in Honiara, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove, as guests of the Prime Minister of Solomon Islands, the Honourable Manasseh Sogavare MP, attended a welcome dinner for leaders of the RAMSI member nations.

Earlier, at Government House, Canberra, the Governor-General met with students from Busselton Senior High School, WA, as they undertook a tour of Government House as part of their visit to Canberra.