Dubbo, NSW; Canberra, ACT

20 August 2018

On Monday 20 August 2018, Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), and Lady Cosgrove, were officially welcomed at Dubbo Regional Airport by Councillor Ben Shields, Mayor of the Dubbo Regional Council, and Mr Michael McMahon, Chief Executive Officer.

Afterwards, the Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove appeared as guests on a special episode of The Today Show – being broadcast from Dubbo Showgrounds – where they expressed support for families and communities being affected by drought around Australia.

Then, as guests of Team Leader, Mr Mark Dobson, Their Excellencies met with members of Team Rubicon Australia assisting with drought-relief efforts in Dubbo.

In addition, Lady Cosgrove, as Patron, and the Governor-General, met with members of the Country Women’s Association of Australia, as guests of Mrs Annette Turner, President, NSW.

Later, the Governor-General, as Patron, and Lady Cosgrove met with volunteers of Foodbank NSW and ACT, as guests of Mr Gerry Andersen OAM, Chief Executive Officer.

Afterwards, Their Excellencies met with members of the Dubbo Rotary Club, as guests of Mr Peter Judd, President.

The Governor-General and Lady Cosgrove returned to Canberra where they hosted a Ceremonial Welcome for His Excellency Mr Andrzej Duda, President of the Republic of Poland, and the First Lady, Madam Kornhauser-Duda, at Government House.

Later, Their Excellencies met with His Excellency Mr Duda and Madam Kornhauser-Duda, and received: Mr Mariusz Błaszczak, Minister of National Defence; His Excellency Mr Michael Kołodziejski, Ambassador of the Republic of Poland; Mr Krzysztof Szczerski, Secretary of State, Chief of the Cabinet of the President.

In the afternoon Their Excellencies hosted a State Lunch in honour of His Excellency Mr Duda, and Madam Kornhauser-Duda. Guests included: Mr Andrew Alwast and Mrs Barbara Alwast; Mr Piotr Antonik and Ms Samanatha Kulkarni; Mr Jason Collins and Mr Toby Blyth; Mr Aleksander Gancarz OAM; His Excellency Mr Jose Jairo Hernandez Milian; Mr Chris Jenkins and Mrs Mary-Lou Jenkins; Vice Admiral David Johnston AO RAN; Dr Karl Kruszelnicki and Dr Mary Dobbie; Ms Malgorzata Kwiatkowska and Mr Boleslaw Kwiatkowski; Senator Sue Lines; Senator the Honourable James McGrath; Senator Claire Moore; Ms Lizzi Nicoll; Dr Sev Ozdowski; My Tony Shepherd AO; Mr Grant Smith; Mr David Williamson; Mr Paul Wojciechowski; and Mr Michael Zimmer.

In the evening, the Governor-General was represented at Fairbairn for the departure from Canberra of His Excellency Mr Duda, and Madam Kornhauser-Duda, by Mr Paul Singer MVO, Acting Official Secretary.