

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

19 August 2015

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

STAR OF COURAGE

(For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril)

The late Pilot Officer James Wallace HOCKING, Nambour Qld 4560

BRAVERY MEDAL

(For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr Mustafa Ruhi AKKAN Sydney NSW 2000

Mr Murray Charles BARNEWALL Port Campbell Vic 3269

Senior Constable Benjamin Douglas BJARNESEN Queensland Police

Ms Elissa Marie CLARKE Adelaide SA 5000

Assistant Commissioner Michael James CONDON APM Queensland Police

Mr Ashley Ryan COSTER Cloverlea Vic 3822

Mr Timothy Shaun COSTER Cloverlea Vic 3822

Mr Jackson Douglas HILLIER 3/29 Broadway, Bonbeach Vic 3196

Mr Soichi KAWABATA Victoria

Senior Sergeant Peter Gerhard LIEBIG Queensland Police Mr Brendan LYS Queensland

Mr Jai McKNEIL 4 Wilga Street, Gladstone QLD 4680

Senior Sergeant Sean Christopher MASKELL Queensland Police

Mr Ryan Alexander NALLY Queensland

Senior Constable Nigel Ross O'KEEFE Queensland Police

Senior Sergeant Michael James PEARSON APM Queensland Police

Mr Nattapat PENPANUSSAK 125 Johnston Street, Annandale NSW 2038

The late Senior Constable David James RIXON, New South Wales Police

Mr Thomas James SMITH Cloverlea Vic 3822

Mr Aleziah SPIERS South Australia

Mr Jamie Alan STRONG Berry NSW 2535

Constable Cameron WALLACE Victoria Police

Senior Constable Joel Michael WHITTRED Queensland Police

Leading Senior Constable Jenny Ann WILTSHIRE Victoria Police

Mr Joseph ZAGHINI Severnlea Qld 4380

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT

(For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Senior Constable Teresa Elizabeth ANDERSON Queensland Police

Senior Constable Shane Grey ASHTON Queensland Police

Constable Megan Jane BRUNTON Queensland Police

Mr Mario CASA Oakleigh South Vic 3167

Mr Daniel Luke COSTER Cloverlea Vic 3822

Mr Robert Edward COSTER Cloverlea Vic 3822

Mr William Edward DENNY 2 Ian Place, Rostrevor SA 5073

Mr Robin Jeffrey EVERNDEN 96 Sabina Drive, Molloy Island WA 6290

Lieutenant Colonel Graham Malcolm GOODWIN South Australia

Mr Dylan Reece HODGE Rockhampton Qld 4700

Mr Michael William JONES New South Wales

Mr Jeffrey Edward JORGENSEN Springfield Lakes Qld 4300

Mr Jeremy Adrian LINTON 312 Sheffield Road, Montrose Vic 3765

Mr Andrew James LOCK OAM Canberra ACT 2600

Mr Mark Anthony McCARTHY Collie WA 6225

Mr Alan Robert MILNER PO Box 683, Strathfieldsaye Vic 3551

Senior Constable Leonard Joseph MORONEY Queensland Police

Mr John Arron NORTH Kings Park Vic 3021

Mr Adrian James PRENDERGAST PO Box 4372, Eight Mile Plains Qld 4113

Mr Salvatore RACITI Melbourne Vic 3000

Mr Robert William STARBUCK 825 Yan Yean Road, Doreen Vic 3754`

Mr Carter David TRAVIS Queensland Mr Bruce Richard WALDRON Cooroibah Qld 4565

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

Awardees comprise of three members of the Marine Rescue, Ballina who went to the rescue of two people after their boat failed in turbulent water at Ballina, New South Wales on 15 April 2013.

Mr Rodney Hugh GUEST East Ballina NSW 2478

Mr Tony Brian HANDCOCK Ballina NSW 2578

Mr David Jamieson NOCKOLDS Ballina NSW 2478

Awardees comprise of members and former members of Queensland Police who removed a suspected explosive from an offender at Logan, Queensland on 2 November 1998.

Detective Senior Constable Peter John BOWSER Queensland Police

Assistant Commissioner Michael James CONDON APM Queensland Police

Senior Sergeant Peter Gerhard LIEBIG Queensland Police

Senior Sergeant Michael James PEARSON APM Queensland Police

Sergeant Paul David WILLIAMS Queensland Police

Mr Joseph ZAGHINI Severnlea Qld 4380

Awardees comprise of three members of Queensland Police and a civilian who entered a burning unit in search of a man at Roma, Queensland on 28 October 2012.

Senior Constable Benjamin Douglas BJARNESEN Queensland Police

Senior Constable Michael Charles HEWITT Queensland Police

Constable Stuart Benjamin MITCHLEY Queensland Police

Mr Jamie Charles PERREN Queensland

Group Bravery Citation (continued)

Awardees comprise of four members of Queensland Police who rescued an elderly woman from a stricken vessel in the flooded Burnett River at Bundaberg, Queensland on 26 January 2013.

- Detective Senior Constable Jon Allan MURRAY Queensland Police
- Constable Brent James SCHULZ Queensland Police
- Senior Constable Donita Maree STAINS Queensland Police
- Senior Constable Ryan Barry THOMPSON Queensland Police

Awardees comprise of members of Queensland Police who were ambushed and fired upon while attending a neighbourhood dispute at West Chermside, Queensland on 1 May 2000.

Senior Sergeant Daryl Elliot GREEN Queensland Police

Senior Constable Sharnelle Patricia HARRIS Queensland Police

Sergeant Christopher John MULHALL Queensland Police

Sergeant Brett Andrew PRICE Queensland Police

Awardees comprise of members of staff who prevented several mental health patients from leaving a Hospital in Queensland on 19 January 2013.

- Mr Richard Vincent ASHTON 2 Kingston Street, Toowoomba Qld 4350
- Mr Geo PARAKALAYIL GEORGE 24 Botanical Drive, Ooralea Qld 4740

Mr Duncan GRILLS Queensland

- Ms Linda Susan HERBERTSON Murphy's Creek Qld 4352
- Mr Thomas James McGOVERN 8 Paull Street, Toowoomba Qld 4350
- Mr Thomas MATHEW 7 Chainey Court, Glenvale Qld 4350

By His Excellency's command

Stephen Murtagh Acting Official Secretary to the Governor-General