

Government House CANBERRA ACT 2600

22 March 2023

Australian Bravery Decorations March 2023

The Governor-General is pleased to announce the following awards:

BRAVERY MEDAL (BM) (For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances)

Mr Nicholas Andrew AUSTIN Geraldton WA 6530

Miss Belana BROADLEY Ballina NSW 2478

Leading Senior Constable Grant Andrew HEALEY Victoria Police

The late Ms Leonie Mary JACKSON

The late Mr Salesi Finau KALAUTA Formerly of Berala NSW 2141

Mr Michael Robert KING

Mr Frank <u>Daniel</u> MONTAGUE Nambour QLD 4560

Ms Elyse Maisie PARTRIDGE Ballina NSW 2478

Mr Melwin (Mesut) POLAT Mount Pleasant WA 6153

Mr Rupert John RUDD

Mr James Christopher WATERBURY QLD

COMMENDATION FOR BRAVE CONDUCT (For acts of bravery considered worthy of recognition)

Mr Gregory John ANDERSON Robina QLD 4226

Leading Senior Constable Simon John BARKER Victoria Police Sergeant Mark Jason EADE Victoria Police

Mr Matthew James FERRIER Thailand

Mr Timothy Berrigan GAUNT NSW

Mr Andrew David HOBMAN QLD

Mr Lindsay John LARNER Mundubbera QLD 4626

Mr Benjamin Charles McCAULEY Eimeo QLD 4740

Mr Robert Malcolm MEDARIS Kirribilli NSW 2061

Leading Senior Constable Raymond James MORELAND Victoria Police

Miss Mabel Rose OXENHAM NSW

Mr Trevor Thomas PARMINTER Katanning WA 6317

Mr Trevor Kenneth RICHARDS QLD

Mr Riley SECCULL Ballarat VIC 3350

Mr Lucas Glenn SHORT Palm Beach QLD 4221

Mr Steven TANEVSKI Dapto NSW 2530



Commendation for Brave Conduct (continued)

Leading Senior Constable Andrew Peter TRACE Victoria Police

Leading Seaman Trent TRAYNOR Royal Australian Navy

Mr Daniel Lee WHITE Sidonia VIC 3444

Petty Officer James Edmund WILLSON Royal Australian Navy

Mr Daniel Gareth WILSON

Gladstone QLD 4680

GROUP BRAVERY CITATION

(For a collective act of bravery, by a group of persons in extraordinary circumstances, that is considered worthy of recognition)

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions after a building exploded and caught fire in Wentworthville, New South Wales on 8 October 2013.

Senior Constable Domenico BARILLARO New South Wales Police

Senior Constable K New South Wales Police

Mr Rabii HADDAD NSW

Senior Constable Chantelle HANNAH New South Wales Police

Detective Sergeant Sean Martin HEAGNEY New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Joshua JONES New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Todd KIRK New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Ergun KOKSAL New South Wales Police

Senior Constable Kelly SCHOLES New South Wales Police

Mr Gilbert Alex VARLET NSW The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the rescue of two people from a burning car in Morwell, Victoria on 29 April 2019.

Detective Leading Senior Constable Joey Anton KURTSCHENKO

Victoria Police

Detective Senior Constable Jarred Lindsay SMITH Victoria Police

Sergeant Mark James SMITH Victoria Police

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the attempted rescue of a man from a dog attack in Mill Park, Victoria on 10 July 2019.

Senior Constable David BOJCZENKO Victoria Police

Senior Constable Priyanka DUNLOP Victoria Police

Senior Constable Rebecca NOVIELLO Victoria Police

Senior Constable Thomas William SHAKESPEARE Victoria Police

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions rescuing people from burning vehicles following a collision on the Bruce Highway near Gindoran, Queensland on 5 August 2020.

Mr Dean Andrew BIRD Andergrove QLD 4740

Mr Glen Kenneth DUSSELL QLD

The late Mr Matthew James STOCKMAN Formerly of QLD

The following recipient is added to a Group Bravery Citation gazetted on 16 March 2022 for their actions during the rescue of people from burning vehicles in Breton Bay, Western Australia on 27 August 2019.

Mr Zhenbo FANG Perth WA 6000



Group Bravery Citation (continued)

The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions during the attempted rescue of a man from a house fire in Elmhurst, Victoria on 28 December 2019.

Leading Senior Constable Grant Andrew HEALEY Victoria Police

Mr Jonathan KEITH Glenlogie VIC 3469

Mrs Sarah Nanette KEITH Glenlogie VIC 3469

Mr Justin McKENZIE Elmhurst VIC 3469

Mr Geoffrey Douglas PENNA OAM Elmhurst VIC 3469

Mr Geoffrey ROGERS Elmhurst VIC 3469

Mr Mark STEPHENS

Mr Steven Craig WHITING VIC

Mr Peter WILSON SA The recipients are recognised with the award of the Group Bravery Citation for their actions rescuing people from a burning vehicle on the Bruce Highway near Tiaro, Queensland on 17 April 2017.

Mrs Ann Margaret GILLIES Birtinya QLD 4575

Mr Gary Gordon GILLIES ASM Baringa QLD 4551

Mr Jack McINNES QLD

Mr Stephen Kenneth RAINBOW Takura QLD 4655

By His Excellency's command

Paul Singer MVO

Official Secretary to the Governor-General